IMINA 'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 585 -31 (COR)

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio T. C. Ada Z 400m 5: ED

Relative to commending and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG), one of our island's premiere non-profit philanthropic civic organizations, on the occasion of its 58th Anniversary, and to recognize the membership and officers for their unselfish willingness to benefit the people and the island of Guam.

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I
2	MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN:
3	WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG), one of
4	Guam's most outstanding, non-profit, philanthropic, civic organizations,
5	is celebrating its 58 th Anniversary as one our island's most active and
6	well-known groups that never fails to lend a hand to assist those in
7	need; and
8	WHEREAS, the current officers of the FCG are:
9	 President Leah Beth Naholowaa;
10	• 1st Vice President Roy Adonay;
11	 2nd Vice President William Dela Pena;
12	 3rd Vice President Meilou Milligan;
13	 Secretary Elizabeth San Nicolas;
14	 Assistant Secretary Ella Amistad;
15	• Treasurer Marites Valondo;
16	 Assistant Treasurer Sonya Sotelo;
17	 Public Relations Officer Mark Duarte;

1 • Auditor Efren Marquez; and

2

3

4

5

6

7

Peace Officers Dan Romulo and Pompeyo Barroga; and

WHEREAS, these fine officers have been successfully carrying on the traditions of the FCG and the Filipino people, recognizing the strong and growing interdependence that exists among the rich diversity of cultures in Guam, and actively promoting civic, social and moral issues for everyone who lives in our beautiful island; and

8 WHEREAS, as a non-profit organization, the FCG is the umbrella 9 to seventy (70) groups, consisting of several thousand Filipino 10 Americans, all of whom have chosen to contribute to the growth and 11 prosperity of our Guam community, and to make this beautiful and 12 unique island their home; and

WHEREAS, on Saturday, October 27, 2012, at the Sheraton
Laguna Guam, FCG members and guests will meet in fellowship and to
enjoy this 58th Anniversary Celebration, and the Honorable Senator
Aquilino Martin de la Llana Pimentel III, will be the honored guest
speaker for this auspicious occasion; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Senator, affectionately known as
"Koko" Pimentel, and son of a former Senator, the Honorable Aquilino
Pimentel, Jr., will be the guest speaker for the anniversary celebration,
bringing his wide range of expertise and his knowledge of the law to
enhance this important event; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Filipino Community of Guam, one of our island's largest and longest running philanthropic non-profit civic organizations, for their Fifty-Eight (58) years of service to the people of our island, as well as to those in need among our neighbors in the Pacific; and be it further

2

1 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the 2 Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to 3 FCG Officers: Ms. Leah Beth Naholowaa, President; First Vice President 4 5 Mr. Roy Adonay, Second Vice President Mr. William Dela Pena, Third 6 Vice President Ms. Meilou Milligan, Secretary Ms. Elizabeth San Nicolas, Assistant Secretary Ms. Ella Amistad, Treasurer Ms. Marites 7 8 Valondo, Assistant Treasurer Ms. Sonya Sotelo, Public Relations Officer Mr. Mark Duarte, Auditor Mr. Efren Marquez; and Peace Officers Mr. 9 10 Dan Romulo and Mr. Pompeyo Barroga; and to the Honorable Edward 11 J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guahan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THIS 27TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary